Technology resources for growing in faith

The internet if FULL of great sites to help people of all ages grow in their faith. There are also many great apps, for those of you who use your phones more than your computer. Here’s a starter list. What sites, apps, or other resources have you found helpful for growing in faith?

Concordia Seminary free resources (via iTunes) – www.iTunes.csl.edu

Bible Gateway online Bible – www.biblegateway.com

YouVersion online Bible (also available as an app) – www.youversion.com

WGTS 91.9 radio station – www.wgts.org

Truth for Life – www.truthforlife.org

Ravi Zacharias International Ministries – www.rzim.org

Answers in Genesis – www.answersingenesis.org

Proverbs 31 Ministries (aimed at women) – www.proverbs31.org

Technology resources for cyber bullying

As use of technology grows among children and teenagers, the rates of cyber bullying increase as well. Here are some websites with helpful information for parents and kids about cyber bullying. What resources have you found helpful in this area?

Cyber Bullying Research Center – www.cyberbullying.us

Stopy Bullying (US Department of Health & Human Services) – www.stopbullying.gov

National Crime Prevention Council – www.ncpc.org/cyberbullying

Prevent Cyber Bullying & Internet Harassment – www.cyberbully411.org

Technology resources for helping those in need

There are many ways we can use technology as a tool to help those in need within our families and our communities. Here is a starter list, focusing specifically on northern Virginia. What are some ways you have utilized technology to help those in need?

Scheduling meals (called Helping Hands Ministry at Prince of Peace) – www.takethemameal.com

Ecumenical Communities Helping Others (ECHO) – www.echo-inc.org

NOVACO (helping homeless victims of domestic abuse) – www.novaco.org

Volunteer Fairfax – www.volunteerfairfax.org

Technology resources for dealing with temptation and sin

This category of resources deals with temptation (especially in regard to technology), and how we deal with sin in our families and releationships. What are some resources that you have found helpful?

XXX Church – www.xxxchurch.com

Ambassadors of Reconciliation – www.hisaor.org

Net Nanny internet filter – www.netnanny.com

Technology resources for families

We’re compiling a list of helpful sites for families in a variety of categories. Here is what we have come up with so far for general family websites. Which sites would you add? Which sites have you found helpful for passing on the faith at home?

Sticky Faith – www.stickyfaith.org

Family Life – www.familylife.org

Focus on the Family – www.focusonthefamily.org

Common Sense Media – www.commonsensemedia.com

Center for Parent-Youth Understanding – www.cpyu.org

The Digital Kids Initiative – www.digitalkidsinitiative.com